Pumpkin Pancakes

6 Nov

Lovely orange batter!

I know, I know, another pumpkin post. But once you open a can of pumpkin, you have to find ways to use it up, right?? So really I am providing a public service, and way for you to eat pumpkin for every meal.

Cooking 'em up

I made these pancakes using my new favorite pancake recipe that I found recently on Kath Eats Real Food. I just substituted half of the yogurt for pumpkin, and added some cinnamon and nutmeg to get those pumpkin-y flavors out. (See, Roxie, I can change recipes sometimes!) Though these ended up being more of a lunch than breakfast, they were still a perfect start to the long weekend of homework that is in front of me. The only thing I would change last time is to add some more milk—I forgot that I take the canola oil out of the original recipe, so without a bit more milk it’s a very thick batter. Oh, and be sure not to forget the salt! I did, and didn’t notice till I’d cooked two already. I added some to the batter and it made all the difference.

By the way, if you’re looking for a weekday incorporation of pumpkin into your breakfast, overnight oats with some pumpkin stirred in are absolutely delicious, and the pumpkin flavor really comes through.

Pretty pumpkin pancakes

Pumpkin Pancakes

Makes 4-6 medium sized pancakes, enough for 2 people

Equipment: Frying pan, spatula

Ingredients

1 egg

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup milk (I would add more until you reach desired consistency)

½ cup plain low- or non-fat yogurt

½ cup pureed canned pumpkin

2 tsp sugar

½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

Pinch of nutmeg

1/8 tsp salt

Method

Beat egg, then add all other ingredients and stir until just combined. Heat a griddle or frying pan on medium heat. Spray pan with cooking spray or lightly butter it. Cook about 1/3 cup of batter at a time, you will probably have to spread out the batter a little as it is very thick. I’ve found the pancakes take a lot longer to cook through then regular pancakes, so make sure to check that they are done. Enjoy hot with maple syrup!

Leave a Reply

