Thai on the Waterfront: Bangkok Joe’s

6 Dec

 

This restaurant comes Beard-Approved

Greetings, dear readers! Sorry for the protracted absence– unfortunately, the end of the semester looms, which means I haven’t had time to do any cooking since Thanksgiving! This has given me the opportunity forced me to use up all those meals in the dining hall that I haven’t been using all semester… I’m getting pretty sick of college food, let me tell you.
But thankfully we live in D.C., where there is always a new restaurant to discover and different cuisines to try! Bangkok Joe’s doesn’t really fall in either of these categories, as we’ve been going there for years and I eat Thai food frequently. But it is one of my favorite restaurants, and as it’s on the pricey side I don’t get to go too frequently.

Mmmm, so much delicious sauce

Brett and I had dinner there a few weeks ago, and it was amazing as always. We decided (or rather, Brett decided) to be ambitious and start with the Assorted Dumplings– five different kinds of dumplings for the price of about two regular servings sounded pretty good to us. There were two of each kind, which was perfect for us, though perhaps rather a large appetizer. I think my favorite was probably the Mushroom ‘n Ginger dumpling, which was pooled in an absolutely amazing sauce. The chicken potsticker was probably my least favorite, just because it was pretty standard fare compared to the amazing flavors of the others. Though we didn’t get it this time, I’ve also had the Peking Duck Spring Roll as an appetizer. Peking Duck is one of my favorite Chinese dishes, and I love this interpretation of it.

General Tso's Chicken

But on to the mains! I got the Panang Curry Noodles with chicken– a boring choice because I’ve gotten it many times before, but it’s so delicious that I couldn’t resist. A huge bowl of creamy and well balanced curry sauce, noodles, and spinach, it’s everything I’m looking for in a curry. And a bonus: because of all those dumplings, I took enough home to get two more lunches out of it! Brett got General Tso’s Chicken… yes, I teased him for being boring and American, but his report was very positive. In his own words: “it was sweet with a spicy aftertaste. Not too much to overwhelm someone but enough that it added to the experience.”
I would definitely recommend Bangkok Joe’s for a nice meal out– it has a great atmosphere and decor, and is fun without being too loud. And it is conveniently loacted on the Georgetown Waterfront… which meant that we just couldn’t avoid walking past Baked and Wired to get home. If you haven’t tried this less-famous bakery yet, you’re truly missing out. A s’mores bar was the perfect end to the night!

Leave a Reply

