New Zealand: Cafes and Chocolate

26 Jan

Mmmm iced coffee

Lily demonstrates how to eat a chocolate fish

Hello again. So one of the reasons I have been so very lax in blogging is that my winter break wasn’t quite as relaxing as usual– after a few days in England with the family, I flew to Wellington, New Zealand to be a bridesmaid in my friend’s wedding. Upon arrival, my friend Lily and I were very quickly put to work as slaves willing helpers. We were pretty much busy the entire week, and as a result were living off take-outs and chocolate (though you won’t find me complaining too much about this, as I was very eager to reunite with cheap take-out curries and the amazing Whittaker’s chocolate).

I also enjoy a chocolate fish

Wellington, however, is famous for its multitude of cafes, and we were not going to spend a week there without doing a bit of cafe-hopping. So in between picking up fabric to make a veil and searching for ties for the groomsmen, we stopped off at Fidel’s, which became my favourite of the Wellington cafes when I was living there. Located on Cuba St, Fidel’s is filled with communist memorabilia, but more importantly has excellent food and lots of outdoor seating (it was, after all, mid-summer).

Sipping ice cream-y coffee requires this face.

As soon as I walked in I remembered what I had to get– an iced chocolate. I first discovered these delicious drinks in Australia, but they also abound in New Zealand with the addition of the all-important chocolate fish (resulting in the series of photographs seen in this post, because Lily is incapable of seeing a camera without posing). An iced chocolate is basically chocolate milk poured over scoops of vanilla ice cream, with whipped cream on top. Simple, yet delicious. What’s bizarre to me is that in both countries if you order an “iced coffee” you will get the same concept– iced coffee with ice cream. My inquiries as to what you would order if you just wanted a cold coffee were met with somewhat blank stares. Apparently it’s just not done.

Chocolate cake was also consumed. The bride could not wait for a photo to be taken to dig in.

I also, of course, ate plenty of Tim Tams when I was there. These chocolate biscuits are (I believe) technically Australian, but thankfully you can get them in New Zealand, because they are amazing. I was very sad when the packet I brought back with me to DC ran out so quickly, but have ordered a fresh delivery with Lily’s impending arrival in the US. If you are ever in the area, I recommend picking up a good supply of the double-coated variety, though the traditional are also excellent. Overall, I think I managed to hit all the classic New Zealand junk foods while I was there, and I highly encourage you to do the same. Especially if it’s chocolate-related.

4 Responses to “New Zealand: Cafes and Chocolate”

  1. Tamsin January 26, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    Daniel say: Cold coffee? WTF?

    • Gina January 26, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      Ok, wait. I understand that Daniel doesn’t have facebook, but he has a COMPUTER. Please tell him to write his own comments if he wishes to be heard. :-p

  2. Emma January 27, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Woops, I ate like 3 of your highly valued tim-tams. *guilty face*
    Can I redeem myself by mailing you swiss chocolate?

    • Gina January 27, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      Hahaha no worries, Lily has promised to bring me more next week.

Leave a Reply

