Caramelized Onion, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Pizza

3 Mar

Finished pizza! I ate it all. Don't judge.

Gina and I are global spices, and will both be traveling for the next couple of weeks (her in Spain, me in Qatar- I am very jealous of all the sangria she gets), so I thought I would write this up before I fly halfway around the world for an undetermined amount of time.  My roommate and I have become quite the pizza experts recently, and this is what I made for dinner tonight.  My main objective was to use up all of the things I have in the fridge, but this ended up being an excellent combination of flavors for a pizza or flatbread.

I read a Serious Eats article on how to quickly caramelize onions recently, and wanted to try out the technique.  It worked extremely well, and I really did have delicious onions in about 15 minutes.  If you’re into food experimenting, I recommend reading the entire article, but if not I outline the easy method below.  I added some mushrooms and goat cheese to complement the onions, and the end result was excellent. Try it sometime soon!

Caramelized Onion, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Pizza
Serves 1 hungry person, or 2 less hungry people

Equipment: Knife, sheet pan, frying pan or skillet

Ingredients:
1/2 package pre-made pizza dough or homemade pizza dough
1/2 large yellow onion, diced finely
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon butter
1/4 cup water
1/2 pint white mushrooms, sliced
1/4 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
3 tablespoons goat cheese
Salt and pepper
Olive oil

Preheat oven to 450 degrees and take pizza dough out of the fridge for 20 minutes.  Heat sugar in a frying pan or skillet over medium-high heat until it has melted and turned light brown, about 3 minutes.  Add onions and coat with the sugar, then add 1/2 tablespoon of butter, 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt and a bit of pepper.  Cook the onions, stirring in the pan occasionally, for about 5 minutes.  Add two tablespoons of water and scrape the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon.  Let the water evaporate, then add water and mix again- do this two more times (adding water 3 times in total).  When onions are deep brown, put them into a mixing bowl.

In the same pan the onions were in, add another 1/2 tablespoon of butter.  Add the mushrooms and cook for 3-5 minutes, or until they are brown and starting to crisp.

To assemble pizza, spray the sheet pan with olive oil, and stretch out the dough using your fingers or a rolling pin.  When the dough is thin, place on the baking sheet.  Spread the caramelized onion-jam onto the dough as a base, followed by the mushrooms.  Then evenly spread the mozzarella cheese over the pizza, followed by crumbles of goat cheese.  Bake in the preheated oven for 10-15 minutes, until crust is golden and cheese bubbling.

Leave a Reply

