Fish Wrapped in Prosciutto

9 Apr

Delicious prosciutto

I’ve been even busier than usual recently, so haven’t had a lot of time to cook (or blog). Most weekends I’ll cook something big and eat the leftovers for a few days during the week, but the past few weekends just fly by so I realized on Wednesday that I really didn’t have anything in, and no time to make something complicated. Thankfully, Mark Bittman came to the rescue, as he often does. I had just seen this article on cooking fish many ways, and since I was at Whole Foods decided to pick up a piece and cook something easy. And it was easy, and delicious, which made me realize I should cook fish much more often, though I have to stop erring on the side of caution and overcooking it!
I loved the flavor of the fried prosciutto in this recipe, though I should probably have used a little less as it overwhelmed the fish a little bit. Either way, it was an excellent, quick, dinner with a side of new potatoes.
Fish Wrapped in Prosciutto (Adapted from Mark Bittman)
Equipment: Frying pan
Ingredients for One:
Fillet of white fish, cut into two or three pieces (see article on what type of fish to buy, make sure the source is good!)
3 slices prosciutto
5-6 leaves basil
Tablespoon olive oil
Method: Lay prosciutto slices on a chopping board, and put one or two basil leaves on each slice. Place piece of fish on prosciutto, and wrap around. It does not have to cover the whole piece, use as much prosciutto as you want. Heat oil in frying pan over medium heat, cook until fish is cooked through (time varies depending on thickness of fish, but it should be opaque), turning once. Garnish with more basil. Serve with boiled potatoes and salad on side.

Leave a Reply

